The French Institute in Latvia (the Cooperation and Cultural Action Service) carries out the administrative cooperation activities of the French Embassy.

These activities are part of the 2008 strategic partnership between France and Latvia, whose action plan was signed on April 9, 2018 by the French Minister of European Affairs Nathalie Loiseau and the Latvian Minister of Foreign Affairs Edgars Rinkēvičs.


There are multiple decentralized cooperation agreements between French and Latvian local authorities that exist in the form of twinnings and partnerships. The Cooperation and Cultural Action Service encourages and contributes to the establishment of new partnerships and the conclusion of new agreements.

Each local authority defines its obligations with their partners. Cooperation activities cover many sectors: culture, education, land management, cultural heritage, environment, tourism, sports, economic development, etc.

Currently, there are nine French local authorities that concluded cooperation agreements with Latvian partners:

French cities Latvian cities
Bordeaux Riga
Cabourg Jūrmala
Chennevières-sur-Marne Tukums
Coulaines Madona
Joué-lès-Tours Ogre
Lorient Ventspils
Marsannay-la-Côte Alūksne
Rueil-Malmaison Jelgava
Villebon-sur-Yvette Saldus